Macgor's New Zealand Speedway

published 17-08-2016
Southern Bullet Series

New Series Exciting For Speedway
By Daryl Shuttleworth
Photos Corbyn Shuttleworth

A full field of Modified Sprints is expected for the Southern Bullet Series
95 Caleb Baughn and 11 Darcy Hewitt will go toe to toe in the Southern Bullet Cup

8 Daryl Scott and 84 Jason McMullin are expected to be front runners in the series
18 Tim Wilson will be wanting to keep all four wheels firmly on the track this season

Local business owner and avid speedway fan John Sievwright had a vision last year while watching racing at The Rock Riverside Speedway, he wanted local businesses to get in behind a grade of local drivers and put on a series with a serious prize pool of money.

Sievwright contacted a handful of drivers from the local Modified Sprint class, pitched his idea to the grade as well as a few potential sponsors and the Southern Bullet Series was born.

The organising committee has put together a four round series for local drivers with a total prize pool of over ten thousand dollars for the series, there will also be an additional round in March known as the Southern Bullet Cup which will feature all the local drivers from the Bullet Series as well as additional drivers from Christchurch making up a grid of twenty two cars, all competing for over three thousand dollars, the twenty two spots available for this are already full with drivers on the waiting list should a spot come open.

Sievwright Blasting Panel and Paint, PPG Automotive Paints, K&D Automotive, Mainland Karting South and Probuilt Engines have all got behind the series which will also feature cash prizes when a driver decides to play "The Joker" card which will allow the top points scorer to start the final from the rear of the field, should that driver win from the rear of the field, they will win a significant cash bonus.

The Southern Bullet Series is limited to fifteen cars, this has lifted interest in the grade with four Rookies joining the grade along with some of last seasons front runners buying new cars from overseas to ensure they give themselves the best shot possible to cash in on the Southern Bullet Series.

The first round of the Southern Bullet Series takes place on November 5th at Rock Riverside Speedway.

Drivers entered are Daryl Scott, Jason McMullin, Chris Sharp, Koby Morrison, Dean Miller, George Phillips, Raymond Phillips, Tim Wilson, Michael Jackson, Kevin Fulton, Darcy Hewitt along with Rookies Scott Williamson, Vaughn Marshall, Luke Oliver and Tony Stiles.
You can follow the series at the official facebook page Southern Bullet Series.

This page produced and hosted by Macgors NZ Speedway .170816.